Magic Quotes #7

No wonder wives and mothers tire of magic. They are always the first upon whom a new one is in- flicted. Besides, they invariably see them before it has been perfectly learned, and catching them call it all very silly. A man invariably tells of his wife’s accuteness at ‘catching on’. Do they realise that a wife or mother knows every little habit and gesture of a man? If he steps out of his self for a second in performing a trick, and makes a move foreign to his ordinary actions, she has i t every time. Allof which brings me to my case. My mother was tired of magic before I was fifteen. I asked her today i f she’d like to see a good one. Not having been pestered (in that manner) for a long time she consented. I told her she was to select a card with the deck in her own hands. As I handed It over I deftly palmed one from the top as per instructions and waited. Shuffling the deck a little, mother said.in an off-hand manner, “I thought you said I was the one to take a card.”I quit right then. What price attainment?

Theo Annemann

One Response to Magic Quotes #7

  1. Not “deftly” enough….

    I know the feeling.

Leave a Reply

