A change in direction

So I’m moving to a new city in a new country for the next 12 months and have decided that busking will be the perfect way for me to improve my magic performance skills. I’ve always been very particular about where I think magic is best performed – for example I wouldn’t want to perform in restaurants, weddings or even corporate situations – it’s too commercial for me. There are only two places I’d be comfortable performing – one is in an organised magic show, where people know they’re going to see a magician and the other is magic performed on the street. Organizing a show does appeal to me but for now I’m going to concentrate on busking – there’s something nice about performing magic on the streets just like magicians used to do a few hundred years ago.

7 Responses to A change in direction

  1. Adam says:

    Nice one Kev,will be interested to read that and hear how it goes-is there a contradiction in not liking the wedding/corporate/restaurant scene (which is fine of course!) but liking the street scene ?? As to me the street is perhaps more organic but I would have thought harder and more forced somehow ? Not being arguementative of course..just a point of view which im sure you will challenge! πŸ˜‰

    • Kevin says:

      Hello fellow blue backed fan! For me at least it comes down to how much control you have over the performance space – with wedding and restaurant it’s a lot of standup instant reset type material and I wouldn’t like the feeling of having to go round and get all the tables done or move plates and cutlery out of the way.

      You know that the material I like to perform is more close up and requires a table. With the street I can set up my own space, won’t feel so much pressure and can have fun trying out new things and seeing what works.

      Anyway – hope things are good with you.

      • Adam says:

        Hey fellow blue backer! Thats a fair enough answer,maybe its not a contradiction then! Im good mate,you have posted some great pics and are seeing the world,good for you.Looks like your having a blast! Anyways keep the blog updated and hopefully your “magic carpet” will bring you to Broad Street soon!

  2. Vladimir says:

    Nice web site. Greetings from the Croatian magician.

    http://vladimir.hr/

  3. Colin says:

    This blog is great. I just spent two hours crawling through past posts and looking for your book and trick references in my book collection. Also this has lead me to create a list of magic books to go find.

    I hope busking is an amazing experience. I came close but never quite had the guts. Any chance you can share access to your busking blog with me? I understand if you’d like to keep it private.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and pointing me in some exciting new directions.

  4. Rebel Magic says:

    Greetings from Rebel Magic πŸ™‚ – http://rebelmagic.com

    Best of luck to you on your new journey. I love the blog. Looks like the link to the new one is marked private right now 😦

  5. Dave says:

    Hi Kevin

    I came across your website by accident and have really enjoyed reading through it.

    I was a busker/street performer (call it what you please) performing all around the word, and not just the best busking spots, for a great many years – I’m not talking about so called street magic where the performer randomly walks up to people and shows off, I was out there risking life (quite literally in some cases) for my art and learning how the human mind works.

    My biggest piece of advice would be to take note of when an audience gets bored or walks off then think about how to improve that particular section of your act. Get out there in all types of weather and persist.

    I wish you the best of luck with your busking career, it will bring moments of great happiness as well as great sorrow but will always be a challenge and will change your life for the better (if you truly embrace all it has to offer and not just do it for the money).

Leave a Reply

