Roy Walton's Favourite Album Is…

Betjeman’s Banana Blush. Which is a collection of poems by Sir John Betjeman set to music. Roy mentioned this in a questionnaire in THE CRIMP magazine. Who knows what great card tricks were invented with this in the background?

I remember speaking to Roy once. I asked a general question about what inspires him to invent his card tricks. Interestingly – he mentioned he was inspired by alot of the classic silent comedies. Buster Keaton, WC Fields, Laurel and Hardy, Charlie Chaplin and so on. You can see a glimpse of this in some of the titles that Roy gives to his tricks. Don’t ask me how you can be inspired by a Buster Keaton film to invent an elegant card trick. But then again – I ain’t no genius…

Anyway – below is a song/poem from ‘Betjeman’s Banana Blush’. By coincidence it happens to be one of my all time favourite poems as well. Another favourite is ‘Whitsun Weddings’ by Philip Larkin. But be warned – you may have to be English to appreciate these poems…

4 Responses to Roy Walton's Favourite Album Is…

  1. john says:

    This is the great thing about the internet. You can’t even breathe any more without some troll who thnks he works for Reuters plastering it up on a website. No secret is too great, no privacy is too trivial. And when you consider how few principles there are in magic, and that the first axiom is “to keep a secret”, its hardly any wonder that people like Roy, Andrew Galloway, etc etc keep themselves to themselves.

    • Justin says:

      Whoa whoa whoa. Hold on there, Buck-o.

      I’d love for you to point out where exactly anyone on this blog has exposed someone else’s routine or effect. Seriously. Show me where some great secret has been revealed, other than handling here or a subtle tip there.

      This blog is obviously written out of respect and love for magic. You think some 12 year old Youtube dweeb is gonna come on here and say, “Oh sweet, a collector’s trick using a double deal”?

      Absolutely not. Only anyone seriously interested in magic would gain anything from this blog, because that’s who it’s written for.

      • Justin says:

        Oh, and by the way, I think you’d put Duffie right in there with Galloway and Roy, eh?

        Well get ready to be pissed, because Duffie has a free trick section on his site.

        O, the blasphemy! It’s not even password protected!

  2. cardmagic10 says:

    To be honest – I kinda’ agree with ‘John’. I probably do go overboard in this area. And the effect the internet is having on magic is so dramatic that I have – for now – tried to ignore it. And in doing so – gone on to (probably) contribute to the problem.

    Anyway – I thank you for your valid point and I have certainly taken it on board. I will still be posting stuff up over the next couple of months (as I promised ‘BlendoMagic’ – whose site this is) – but thinking about it I don’t think there will be much in the way of ‘secrets’ in those posts. Certainly not in the way some of my previous posts were…

    On a wider point. I am still considering the relationship between magic, the internet and secrets. And my place in all that. It would be nice to find the right balance, and it might be nicer still to try and help ‘turn back the tide’. I am only 28 so the internet has always being around me. But – for the older people in magic I can fully understand their distress at how magic is going. I share in that as well – and the best way to fight it might be by not taking part at all…

    Anyway – for what it is worth – my ‘blogging’ was only ever supposed to be a temporary thing for a few months. I think the debate about the future of magic and our relationship to secrets is a very important one. And I do accept I may be part of the problem and not the solution.

    At least for now…

Leave a Reply

