It’s Not Magic But…

I promised myself just one non-magic blog post whilst I filled in for BlendoMagic. And – here it is…

I would say I read two old magic books for every new one I read. And on top of that I read about three non-magic books for ever magic book I read. Don’t worry – I am not showing off. I just have no friends and no life…

Anyway – it is probably a good thing to encourage magicians to read more. And not just magic books. Non-magic books as well. Makes you more rounded apparently…

So in that spirit – I offer the following link. Of all the non-magic stuff out there on the internet – I think this is the most interesting. It is a fantastic blog by the world’s best documentary maker. Adam Curtis. For those who have seen his films – it helps to read the blog with his voice in mind… Here is the LINK.

And for those new to the ways of the Curtis – you can find his films on YouTube.

There! End of NON-MAGIC TRANSMISSION……………………………

PS On a slightly more relevent topic. Do you think there could be a trick in this? – BENFORD’S LAW

6 Responses to It’s Not Magic But…

  1. Justin says:

    Very strange. Not moments before coming here and seeing this post, I too posted an entry called “It’s Not Magic, but…”

    Great links…

    Benford’s Law is utterly fascinating.

  2. cardmagic10 says:

    Hey Justin,

    You have made a great start with your blog. Just wanted to ask you a question (since you can’t leave comments on your blog). Can you mention a bit more about Cy Endfield’s SHOCK THERAPY? You recently mentioned it on your blog when you recommended ROGER’S THESAURUS. I used to have that book (about ten years ago) and have recently become a big fan of Cy Endfield’s work (he directed ‘Zulu’ you know?). So – I would be interested to hear more. Hope you catch this message…

    Thanks!

    Joe

    • Justin says:

      Thanks for the kind words sir.

      Sure thing. Let’s see if I can remember this exactly, as I don’t have the book in front of me…

      Basically, you have someone freely think of a card (truly a free choice). Then you go through the deck five cards at a time. Every five cards, you ask if the person has seen their card (kind of like Vernon’s OOSOOM, but for totally different reasons). When they have, you take that five card packet and make the thought-of card disappear. It is subsequently found reversed in the deck.

      It really is a cool trick, and there’s about 3 or 4 different versions of the trick in the book, all from different magicians if I remember correctly.

      Hope that helped!

      • Justin says:

        Oh, I forgot to mention there’s an amusing magic sequence before you make the card vanish, using the ever-brilliant Everchange Count.

  3. cardmagic10 says:

    Cheers Justin!

    That sounds really good – I also love anything using the ingenious EVERCHANGE COUNT. And there is also a really good Walton trick in that book. I think I will have to track it down again…

    Joe

    • Justin says:

      Leave ‘Em Laughing, I believe? Absolutely great trick 🙂 Such a simple, but great, use of the pass.

Leave a Reply

