A Nice Control

Don’t know the name of this but it’s a nice control I sometimes use. If anyone can tell me the original source I’d be eternally grateful. Deck is spread face up for spectator to touch a card – cards are squared but a break is held below the card. Execute a T.O pass as you ask the spectator how far down they think their card is. Card is now on top (or second/third/or bottom depending on where you took the break. The misdirection here is brilliant as you are asking a question which will inevitable cause them to look at you while you do the pass.

It fits nicely with an ambitious card routine as the card can be controlled to say third from top so you’re several steps ahead. This is probably not new to most of you but I hope some of you find a use for it.

11 Responses to A Nice Control

  1. Liam Montier says:

    Not sure who it belongs to, but I used to use it as a phase in an ambitious card – with the deck face up, the selection was returned to the middle face down “so you can see when it rises to the top”.

    Of course, the turnover pass was used, and the card was already there when they looked down.

    Liam.

    • blendomagic says:

      Thanks Liam,

      You’ve just jogged my memory to a similar thing Tommy Wonder did in his ambitious card routine except he uses cover cards after the pass.

  2. cardman says:

    I tend to think that doesn’t really belong to anyone because it’s 101 in many ways.

    Just a side note that may be a bit of blasphemy. I usually do the T.O.P. while being burned.

    Again nothing revolutionary by any means, but if it works, why fix it. This simple way reduces flash, reduces the problem of “coming together correctly”, and as laymen tend to do “one hand only, nothing can be done”

    Simply the lower part is brought closer to the body, and instead of any strange sliding etc from the left hand you simply “jiggle pass, left hand only”. Basically the top pack adds a nice little cover while doing the deed. You can even gauge this step by how large the right thumb is. Then wrist kill, and if your being burned “shake”. Really nothing needs to be said but in essence the shake is a magical gesture if you will.

    No biggie, but in my world I haven’t been called on a T.O. pass forever and I do it all the time. Just turn over the deck in the left hand with a little shake (if wanted).

    I’m not sure if any credit can be given on this either, but I first saw a wrist kill action with a T.O. from Earl Nelson. I believe later this same idea somewhat has been credit to Bill Malone. To call it a “The Bill Malone Pass” on any level while rolling up the sleeves I think is debatable.

  3. Jesse Rijpkema says:

    I’m looking for a book , manuscript or video to improve my turnover pass, does anybody know a good reference ?

    I love this blog by the way, who is leading it?

    Cheers,

    Jesse

    • blendomagic says:

      There’s a fantastic description of the turnover pass in Vol 1 of the Complete Walton! I’m going to keep plugging this book until every self respecting cardman own it! (which they should already).

  4. Jerry Lennings says:

    I’m looking for a book , manuscript or video to improve my turnover pass, does anybody know a good reference ?

    I love this blog by the way, who is leading it?

    Cheers,

    Jesse

  5. Gary Middleton says:

    this is the exact context that Roy showed me his turnover pass about 20 years ago.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

